Skip to content

DIY: Crochet Pillow Cover

October 7, 2012

We have a lot of mismatch pillows in the living room and I’m giving some of them makeovers to make a more cohesive look.

P9300124

P9250076The first one was donated to the cause when a friend of ours moved overseas. It was in great shape but didn’t quite match the look we were going for. So, I made a crochet front for it in the main colors of the room and I think it turned out pretty well.

 

To make it, I crocheted a large square the size of the empty pillow case. Luckily the case has a zipper the whole length of one side. I didn’t measure anything exactly but it worked out well enough. The good thing about it is that I could stretch it around to fit the exact size. I attached the square to the pillow case with safety pins and hand stitched them together along the seams of the pillow. Sewing along the seams pulled the square into shape and left everything with a smooth, clean finish. The back is a solid brown, so I left it alone.

 

P9260079P9290109P9300128

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2012 6:47 pm

    I love that! I would love for you to post it at my SHOW-licious Sunday Craft Showcase! http://sewliciousdecor.wordpress.com.

  2. kendraalyse permalink
    October 8, 2012 10:13 am

    Come do mine. Lol. 🙂

    • ashleykfromak permalink*
      October 8, 2012 6:48 pm

      You can do it!

      • kendraalyse permalink
        October 9, 2012 3:49 pm

        Right after I learn how to crochet. 😉

      • ashleykfromak permalink*
        October 9, 2012 8:20 pm

        minor details. Maybe try an old sweater?? just sew really well to not unravel the whole thing.

      • kendraalyse permalink
        October 10, 2012 2:34 pm

        That’s a good idea. Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Crystallized Decor Pillows & Ring Pillows | Tasagi Designs

Leave a comment

twistedewe

Just another WordPress.com site

Domestic Superhero

Simple recipes packing a PUNCH of flavor that any home cook can recreate!

Coffee & Lilacs

living a life of handmade moments

year of living craftily

(re)capturing my elusive creativity

{DIY} confessions

CREATE - SHARE - INSPIRE